Skip Npicturesnavigation

Types of Use

General information

In compliance with the "Regulations of the Federal Archives for the Use of Audiovisual Media (images, films, sounds)", you can use images from the Federal Archives for almost any purpose.
For each use, you are obliged to state the source “Bundesarchiv”, the reference number of the picture and the name of the creator!
Photographs of the Federal Press and Information Office must include the source “Bundesregierung”, the reference number of the picture and the name of the creator!

Publication purposes

For publication purposes, you can order, pay and download high-resolution images via this picture database against the corresponding fees.

Private use / non-commercial websites

You can use pictures from the Federal Archives (not from the Federal Press and Information Office!) in a medium resolution (maximum 800 px page length) free of charge for private purposes and on non-commercial websites.
Unfortunately, it is not possible to use pictures of the Federal Archives on social media due to the terms of use of these platforms. That means it is not permitted to post them on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram etc.!

Exhibitions

The use of pictures of the Federal Archives (not Federal Press and Information Office!) in exhibitions is free of charge. However, it is not possible to order and download pictures via the Digital Picture Archive. In order to use and receive pictures for exhibition purposes, please fill in, sign and return the request form and provide us with information regarding the exhibition (theme, institution, time and place). Please send us your picture order in the following form (Example: "Bild 146-1984-062-04 OR Bild 183-1990-0518-028 OR B 145 Bild-F008112-0015"). You will receive the pictures on DVD or via BArchBox.
The processing fee is at least 15,34 EURO according to the Bundesarchiv-Kostenverordnung (No. 3), plus DVD and shipping if necessary. For new scans in a higher resolution (max. 600dpi on DIN A 4), we charge a service fee of 15,34 EUR for every half an hour work.

Any other questions?

You will find answers to many questions about the use of images from the Federal Archives and the Federal Press and Information Office on the "Help" page.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

Skipnavigation

Benutzungsarten

Allgemeine Hinweise

Unter Beachtung der "Bedingungen des Bundesarchivs für die Nutzung audiovisueller Medien (Bilder)" können Sie Bilder des Bundesarchivs für fast alle Zwecke nutzen.
Bei jeder Nutzung ist die Quelle "Bundesarchiv", die Bildsignatur und der Name der Urheberin / des Urhebers zu nennen!

Publizistische Zwecke

Für publizistische Zwecke können Sie hochaufgelöste Bilder gegen die entsprechenden Gebühren bzw. Nutzungshonorare über diese Bilddatenbank bestellen, bezahlen und herunterladen.

Private Zwecke / nichtkommerzielle Webseiten

Für private Zwecke und auf nichtkommerziellen Webseiten können Sie Bilder des Bundesarchivs (nicht der Bundesbildstelle!) in mittlerer Auflösung mit maximal 800 px Seitenbreite / Seitenlänge gebührenfrei nutzen.
Eine Nutzung von Bundesarchiv-Bildern auf sozialen Medien ist aufgrund der Nutzungsbedingungen dieser Plattformen leider nicht möglich, d.h. ein Einstellen auf Facebook, YouTube, Instagram etc. ist nicht erlaubt!

Ausstellungen

Die Nutzung von Bildern des Bundesarchivs (nicht der Bundesbildstelle!) in Ausstellung ist gebührenfrei, allerdings nicht über das Digitale Bildarchiv möglich! Um Bilder für Ausstellungszwecke zu nutzen und zu erhalten, füllen Sie bitte eine AV-Benutzungsantrag aus und senden ihn unterschrieben an das Bundesarchiv zurück, teilen Sie uns bitte mit wo und wann die Ausstellung statt findet und senden Sie uns Ihre Bildbestellung in der folgenden Form (Beispiel: "Bild 146-1984-062-04 OR Bild 183-1990-0518-028 OR B 145 Bild-F008112-0015")
Die Bearbeitungs-Gebühren betragen mindestens 15,34 EURO gemäß der Bundesarchiv-Kostenverordnung (Nr.3). Für Neuscans in höherer Auflösung (bis 600dpi auf DIN A 4) werden Bearbeitungsgebühren in Höhe von 15,34 Euro je halbe Stunde, evt. DVD und Porto berechnet.

Weitere Fragen?

Auf der Seite "Hilfe" finden Sie Antworten auf viele Fragen rund um die Benutzung von Bildern des Bundesarchivs und der Bundesbildstelle.
Natürlich können Sie auch gerne "Kontakt" mit uns aufnehmen.